Chevron Canvas How-To

Chevron has been all over the place recently and I’m usually not a huge fan of stripes, however, for some reason, if the stripes are zig zagged I love them. Who would’ve thought? Anyways, I’ve been trying to find some way to incorporate chevron into the decor of my new room, but hadn’t figured out the perfect way until now: a canvas!

At first, I thought I would wing it and just try to free hand the stripes. Then I remembered that I’m horrible at free handing, especially when it comes to straight lines and angles, so I came up with a method to make sure my chevron turned out as perfect as possible!

I started with a 10 x 10 canvas and drew a grid of 1 x 1 squares on it using a ruler. Then I connected the corners of each square to make a chevron pattern, like this…

On the rows that are blank in that picture, I drew lines from the top left corner to the bottom right corner of each square.

I taped over the stripes that I didn’t want to paint the first color. I started to use duct tape, but it was wider than my stripes, so I had to cut it. That ended up being super tedious, so I switched to normal Scotch tape because it was the right thickness.

I used two different colors of green on the stripes that weren’t taped and ended up with this…

Once it dried, I peeled off the tape and put more tape over the green stripes so I could give the rest of the stripes two coats of white paint. This covered up the pencil marks and gave it a crisper look.

Then, to add a little bit of extra pizazz and because I really wanted to use my new green glitter paint, I gave the white stripes a coat of glittery, sheer green paint. After a little bit of touching up, this is the final product!

If I had used painter’s tape instead of Scotch tape, the edges of the lines probably wouldn’t have needed as much touching up, but I couldn’t find my painter’s tape and I’m still happy with how it turned out! I hope this helps if you decide to paint something with chevron!

6 thoughts on “Chevron Canvas How-To

  1. Pingback: Puff-Paint Doily « With Scissors and a Spatula

  2. This is great. I love the color combo. I have a large canvas just waiting for a fun treatment and your method looks like it would be easy and attractive. Two of my favorite things!

Leave a Reply

