Refashioned Jewelry Box

The other day at Goodwill I stumbled upon a cute little set of drawers for only $4.06 that would be a perfect jewelry box. The way it’s painted is something I would have loved when I was six, but not so much now. It was nothing a quick sanding and fresh coat of paint wouldn’t fix though! This is what it originally looked like…

Original Drawers

I sanded it.

Sanded Drawers

Then painted it a pretty blue color.

Blue Drawers

I love all the stenciled painting projects I’ve seen lately and decided to give it a try myself! I bought a small, single stencil at Joann’s, which I thought would be perfect for this piece.

Stenciled Drawers

Don’t you love it?! That’s my mom’s sewing machine behind it. She was hard at work on a slipcover for my futon. Thanks Mom 🙂 But back to the drawers… The stenciling turned out so much better than I thought it was going to! It worked really well and was pretty fun too. Once I was finished, I thought it had too much of a “perfect” feel to it, so I dry brushed it with a tiny bit of white paint. To dry brush, just barely dip your paint brush (I used a big, bristly one) in the paint, then brush most of it off before actually applying it. It ended up creating a sort of distressed look, which was what I was hoping for. Here’s a close up of the top after I dry brushed it.

Top Close Up

And here is the final product! I’m completely obsessed with it and can’t wait to store my jewelry and accessories in it! Ahh so exciting! I hope you love it as much as I do! It’s quite an improvement from the original one, right?

Finished Drawers

Linking up to Savvy Southern Style’s Wow Us Wednesday, Tea Rose Home’s Link Party, Thrifty Decorating’s Thrifty Thursday.

This project is also my entry to the Bloggy Olympics Event 3: Paint! It is linked up to the Paint Projects Linky at CRAPTASTIC.

12 thoughts on “Refashioned Jewelry Box

Leave a Reply

