Roasted Pineapple Shortcakes

This is the recipe I made for Father’s Day dessert! My dad loves tropical flavors and I figured pineapple was pretty tropical, plus the recipe sounded delicious, so it is what I ended up making. Unfortunately, I didn’t take any pictures of it because I completely forgot! But it looked just as good as it sounds!

I pinned My Recipes’ Roasted Pineapple Shortcakes with Cinnamon Whipped Cream on Pinterest a long long time ago, which is where my idea came from. I didn’t end up following the recipe that closely, so I’ll tell you how I made my version.

I cut two pineapples into spears and arranged them in a baking dish. I melted half a stick of butter and poured it over the pineapple. Then I sprinkled brown sugar over the top. I didn’t measure it, but just be sure each piece gets some brown sugar on it! I baked it in a 400 degree oven for 20 minutes. Instead of angel food cake, I served it with pound cake and instead of the cinnamon whipped cream, I used vanilla ice cream. I put a scoop of ice cream on top of a slice of pound cake, then poured the pineapple and sauce from the pan over the top. Delicious! It was almost like a deconstructed pineapple upside-down cake, but with ice cream. So so good! And very easy too. It serves about six to eight people.

One thought on “Roasted Pineapple Shortcakes

Leave a Reply

