Hair Accessories

I went through a hair clip/headband phase about a year ago, but have sort of drifted out of it since then. Recently, I came across a few pictures on blogs and Pinterest of hairstyles with bows, flowers, etc. and I’ve decided to bring back the hair accessories! Of course, that means I needed to make a few new ones. This is what I ended up with!

Finished Hair Accessories

To make the braided headband, you will need:

  • an elastic hair tie
  • six strips of fabric
  • sewing machine or a needle and thread or even hot glue
Start by cutting your fabric into the size strips that you want. I used strips that were 1 inch x 18 inches, approximately. Sew the ends of three strips together, braid, and then sew the other ends.
Fabric Braids
Do the same thing with the other three strips, then sew both ends of both braids together.
Sewed Together Ends
Cut the elastic hair tie in half (through the whole loop) and use one piece to attach the ends of the braids together. You’ll need to sew or hot glue the braids to the elastic. And that’s it!
Finished Headband
You could just do one braid if you want, instead of the two. It’s so easy! For more pictures visit MaryJanes and Galoshes’ Braided Headband Tutorial, which is where I got the idea from!
To make the bow, you will need:
  • fabric
  • an alligator clip
  • sewing machine or needle and thread
  • hot glue
I cut my fabric into a 5 in x 9 in rectangle and folded it in half “hamburger style” with the wrong side of the fabric facing out. Then, I sewed along all three of the open sides, leaving just a small gap so that I could turn it back right-side-out, then I sewed the gap shut from the outside.

Fabric Rectangle

I accordion-folded the fabric square (or almost square, since technically it’s now 5 x 4.5) and pinched it in the middle to get a bow shape. From there, I wrapped a thin strip of fabric around the center of the bow and hot glued it into place.

Bow

Once the actual bow was made, I hot glued an alligator clip to the underside and it was done! Quick and easy!

To make the flower, you will need:

  • fabric, cut into 9 circles
  • sewing machine or needle and thread
  • a button
  • an alligator clip

Trace nine circles onto your fabric. Mine ended up being having a 4 inch diameter, so my flower ended up being pretty big. It definitely makes a statement. Next time I will probably make a smaller one, but I do like the larger one. Fold one of the circles in half, then in half again. Sew it to another circle, making sure the point is in the center. Fold three more circles and attach them too. Your flower will turn out the best if you make sure the folds all open the same way when sewed on. Repeat the same thing for the second layer of petals, but turn them a little bit and attach them so the creases aren’t directly on top of the ones on the first layer. These pictures might help.

Layer OneLayer Two

Once all eight of the petals are sewn on, hot glue a button in the center to cover up the stitches. Glue on an alligator clip and it’s ready to wear!

Finished Flower

I wore the headband yesterday, but forgot to take pictures!  I’ll hopefully put up pictures of me wearing them soon because I plan on wearing all of them within the next few days. Which one is your favorite?!

5 thoughts on “Hair Accessories

  1. So cute. I have so much extra fabric that I can totally do this project without buying anything new (love when that happens). Looking forward to seeing what you’ll link up at events for the Bloggy Olympics! 🙂

    • Thank you so much! These are definitely a good project to use up some fabric scraps. I have some more fabric left over from a project I just finished, so I think I’ll make another headband with it. Look for my first Bloggy Olympics post later today! Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

