Distressed Window Mirror

In August I will be officially moving into my apartment! I’ve been living in a dorm the past two years, so being able to have my very own apartment (with one of my best friends, Katherine, too) is very exciting. My lease started the beginning of this month and I was able to go to North Carolina with my mom to see it. We went mostly to transfer my stuff from the storage unit into the apartment (darn two week overlap between moving out of the dorm and the start of my lease…), but we were also able to figure out what exactly I’ll need, get a few measurements, and things like that. Since we were there for four days, we went shopping for decorations and a few other necessities, of course!

Hobby Lobby was having a 50% off sale on all their mirrors and I found a great one for $20 that looked sort of like a window. It had six panes with a white border and was cute as it was, but to give it a more “window-y” feel I wanted to distress it a little bit. This is what it looked like after I taped it and sanded it because I forgot to take a picture beforehand. You get the idea though.Original Mirror

Anyways, apparently the frame wasn’t real wood because I sanded and sanded and sanded and never got to woodgrain… I was able to get a little bit of the sanded texture, but not as much of a texture as I was hoping. Instead, I switched gears and used a flathead screwdriver and made gashes in the frame and a phillips head screwdriver to make holes and dents in it. After successfully beating up the frame, I covered it in Valspar Antiquing Glaze. Apply it in an uneven, random way to get the most rustic look. Application of Antiquing Glaze

Wipe it off, smear it around, etc. until you get an effect that you like. I used my fingers to add a little extra darkness in some areas, especially on the outside edges. I let it dry and then immediately hung it up because I’m impatient. Here it is drying outside.Mirror Outside

And here is a close up of the distressing.  I love the way the little holes look!Close Up of Distressing

And finally, here’s the finished mirror hanging up in my future bedroom in my apartment! It’s hung a little too high, but I’m not supposed to put holes in the wall and there were already two screws there that just about perfectly lined up with the hangers on the back of the mirror. How’s that for luck? I figure once I put some cute things on my dresser you won’t really be able to tell how high it is. Finished Mirror Hanging

That being said, I’m obsessed with how it turned out.  I love the marks that the screwdrivers made in the frame and think it looks like an old window-turned-mirror.  I hope you guys like it too!

4 thoughts on “Distressed Window Mirror

  1. Pingback: Wire Bulletin Board & Bloggy Olympics Event #1! « With Scissors and a Spatula

  2. Pingback: Puff-Paint Doily « With Scissors and a Spatula

Leave a Reply

