Canvas Photograph

Finally, my first post about an actual project! I made this as a gift a about two weeks ago, except it was a gift for my friend Katherine, so I didn’t want to post about it until after her birthday. Now, it’s after her birthday and here it is!

My Canvas Picture

Everyone has seen those amazing photographs printed on canvases, however they can be quite expensive and have to be custom ordered. Pinterest is full of different DIY canvas pictures, but the ones that I liked the best were the ones that printed the picture on tissue paper before transferring it onto the canvas, like Sarah’s Never-Ending Projects Wall Art, because it really lets the canvas texture come through.

For the most part, I followed Sarah’s excellent instructions. Taping the tissue paper to the printer paper worked surprisingly well. I enhanced my picture a little bit and made the colors a bit more saturated to make it vibrant and colorful. The trickiest part I found was trimming the edges. Sarah was able to get clean lines on hers, but I was not so lucky. I had colored parts of the tissue paper hanging over the sides and it wasn’t very pretty looking. I decided to add ribbon to the sides to cover it up and give it a more finished look.Ribbon on Sides of Canvas

I was so happy with the way it turned out! My mom thought it was the coolest thing ever and is already planning on making a few of her own. Katherine also really seemed to like it and her mom and sister too!  So happy birthday, Katherine!

5 thoughts on “Canvas Photograph

  1. This looks really cool! Is this just an 8×10 size? What I wonder is how you could do a really big one, which are even more expensive. But I love that you can do this at home and it doesn’t look super tough.

    • Thank you! Yes, it’s an 8 x 10! I originally wanted to make a larger one, but couldn’t figure out how to do it. Maybe printing on multiple sheets of tissue paper and then lining them up? Might be a little tricky though. Overall it was pretty easy!

  2. Pingback: Happy Father’s Day! And Another Canvas Picture « With Scissors and a Spatula

Leave a Reply

